Temporary up- or downgrade your Hypernode plan

in Usage

It is possible to temporary up- or downgrade your Hypernode plan. This way you can always be ahead of a traffic increase by upgrading to a bigger Hypernode with more resources.

Up- and downgrades

Temporary upgrading your Hypernode plan is easy: just log in on our Service Panel and select Administratief -> Pakketbeheer -> Pakkettype.

From there choose the new specs you prefer in the comparison table and select the check mark at the bottom of the page to agree and start the up- or downgrade with Pakket aanpassen.

Pay per day

Do you only need a larger Hypernode for a few days? No problem! You can downgrade to your original plan as soon as the larger Hypernode is no longer needed.

If you upgrade your Hypernode to a bigger plan for a single day, only 1 day will be billed. This way you can upgrade for an event, mailing or sales action without being bound to a monthly plan for the rest of the month.

Just upgrade your Hypernode plan a day in advance, run your event or sales action and as soon as the number of daily visitors has normalized again, downgrade your plan. You only pay for what you use.

If you upgrade your Hypernode plan and change it back within 2 hours, no additional cost will be incurred.
This way, if you up- or downgrade your Hypernode by mistake, you can always undo your action without extra costs.

If you want to do a quick test or ensure yourself the bigger node is big enough for your expected traffic increase, this can be done during the 2 hour reflection time.

Change of IP address

When upgrading or downgrading a Hypernode plan, we first create a second node, migrate your shop to this new node and then remove the old one. Everything has been automated but please be aware that every up- and downgrade will cause a change of IP address of your shop.
Right before the migration is finished, we email the technical contact the new IP address.

Make sure to keep a list of payment providers, firewalls, local DNS servers and other services that depend on the IP address of the Hypernode, so you can quickly change the IP address in case of an up- or downgrade.

How an up- or downgrade is managed

Up- and downgrades are a fully automated process. When you change your Hypernode plan, a new server is started at the cloud provider and then configured.

When the node is configured the databases and file content on your current Hypernode will be copied to the new server.

To finish the migration we test if everything works properly. If this is the case, we change the appname.hypernode.io DNS records (and the ones for your domain if you linked it to your Hypernode). After that, we decommission the old node.

This way the downtime is as small as possible, depending on the TTL of your DNS.

Downtime during upgrades

If you have a very large database or a highly utilized Hypernode, upgrades can cause some errors due to deadlock errors on your database or long running PHP processes reaching timeout values.

Make sure you do not schedule up- or downgrades during peak hours and always check Magereport Premium or the command line to ensure yourself no product exports and long running crons are currently active.

Ensure yourself no mailings, TV commercials, social media advertisement and other traffic generating events are started. Always upgrade in advance!

SSH access during up- and downgrades

During the up- or downgrade we disable SSH and FTP access to avoid new file changes that are not copied to the new server.
Make sure not to add product changes, upload images, or change settings in the Magento admin backend while a migration is executed.

0